Northeast Elementary School
425 Winthrop Drive,
Ithaca, NY 14850

Lily Talcott, ​Principal
lily.talcott@icsd.k12.ny.us

Main Office: 257-2121

School Fax: 257-8157

Attendance Line:
257-0546

Nurse: 266-3559

Transportation Office:
274-2128


Kids Count: 257-9400

Stay Informed by Joining the Northeast PTA Listserv!

To join, click on the link, northeastpta-subscribe@
yahoogroups.com
, and type "Please add me to the PTA listserv." in the subject line, mention your child's name and grade in the body, and the administrator will add your email address to our list.
Social Media Presentation Resources

Cyber Safety For Parent/Caregivers/Educators

Tips
• Stay informed
• Set age appropriate limits
• Keep lines of communication open
• Initiate conversations
• Teach Netiquette
• Explain how to be a good “upstander” if someone else is being bullied
• Share your values and be a good role model
• Encourage balanced use


Recommended Books and Websites
• www.cyberbullying.us
• www.safekids.com and www.safeteens.com
• www.thefab.notlong.com (ICSD website with these references and many more)
• Bullying Beyond the Schoolyard:Preventing and Responding to Cyberbullying, by Sameer Hinduja and Justin W.Patchin
• School Climate 2.0: Preventing Cyberbullying and Sexting One Classroom at a Time, by Sameer Hinduja , Justin W. Patchin
• Cyberbullying and Cyberthreats by Nancy Willard
• Cybersafe Kids, Cyber-savvy Teens, by Nancy Willard
• The Shallows: What the Internet is Doing to Our Brains, by Nicholas Carr
• It's Complicated: The Social Lives of Networked Teens , by Danah Boyd
• www.onguardonline.gov (excellent booklet for parents called “Net Cetera”)
• www.commonsensemedia.org
• www.connectsafely.org/ & www.connectsafely.org/guides-2/ (Parent guides about Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram)
• Cyber bully: ABC family movie available on Netflix
• INTERNET DEFINITIONS: http://www.computerhope.com and http://www.netlingo.com/
• FACEBOOK: http://hubpages.com/hub/facebookforbeginners
• MONITORING TEEN DRIVING http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2013/07/17/parents-monitor-teen-driving/2482753
• REPORTING FACEBOOK VIOLATIONS: http://www.facebook.com/help/?page=798


Homework and Study Sites:
• StudyJams!: http://studyjams.scholastic.com
• Brain Pop: http://www.brainpop.com/ (many schools have this for free: check with the library)
• Homework Spot http://www.homeworkspot.com
• FactMonster http://www.factmonster.com
• BJ Pinchbeck's Homework Helper http://www.bjpinchbeck.com/
• Science360 for iPad iPad
• Smithsonian Education Students http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/students
• Khan Academy http://www.khanacademy.org
• Digital Vaults http://www.digitalvaults.org
• BlackTV247.com http://blacktv247.com/
• HowStuffWorks http://www.howstuffworks.com/
• Science Bob http://www.sciencebob.com
• Sheppards Software: http://www.sheppardsoftware.com


Other Helpful Sites
• commonsensemedia.org for reviews of Movies, Apps, Websites, books
• Dropbox.com (cloud filing)
• Prezi.com (cool new way of doing presentations)